Leadership and Governance

Andrew MacIsaac CEO

Andrew MacIsaac

CEO and Board Member

Over the past decade Andrew has successfully established over $75 million in partnerships between industry, academia, government, and donors, and developed catalysts for economic investment totalling more than $200 million. With a background in economics and public sector management, Andrew has worked with UBC, and the University of Alberta, and is currently the Assistant Dean for the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Andrew sits on the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce, Policy Committee, the Edmonton Health City Steering Committee, and the board of the Canadian Mental Health Association, Edmonton.

Greg Klak Vice President and General Manager GIlead

Greg Klak

Board Member

Greg Klak is the Vice President of Operations and General Manager for the Gilead Alberta manufacturing facility. Prior to the acquisition by Gilead in 2006, he spent 16 years with Raylo Chemicals providing custom manufacturing services to the pharmaceutical industry, including Gilead Sciences. Mr. Klak received both his B. Comm. and MBA degrees from the University of Alberta, and currently serves as a Board Member for BioAlberta.

DynaLIFE Jason2019 3536 2

Jason Pincock

Board Member

Jason is currently the Chief Executive Officer of DynaLIFE Medical Labs, one of Alberta’s largest private healthcare organizations. At over 1100 employees DynaLIFE is Canada’s most regarded multidisciplinary clinical laboratory organization and is recognized as one of Canada’s Best Managed Companies. Jason is a Certified Management Accountant, a graduate of the Queens Executive Program and a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors. Jason works with an ownership board, including OMERS and Laboratory Corporation of America (publicly traded) as well as a board of senior policy advisors.


Mauro Chies

AHS Representative

Mauro is the Vice President of Cancer Control Alberta & Clinical Support Services, and member of the AHS Executive Leadership Team. Mauro has previously held the positions of Vice President (Acting), Clinical Support Services and Province-wide Services, as well as Senior Operating Officer, Diagnostic Imaging Services. He started his career with the former Capital Health region in 1988 as a medical laboratory technologist. 

Senior Staff Members

Christy Urban

Christy Urban

Vice President, Strategic Development

With a background in external and academic relations, Christy led the successful bid to establish the Canadian National Centre of Excellence Mountains Institute as well as served as Director of Academic Relations for Amii. In her role with API Christy leads network development, academic engagement, and strategy.

F74D2C5B 8D52 451E 96FA F1CCD6700AB2 1 201 a

David Jenish

Manager, Innovator Services

With more than 20 years experience in commercial pharmaceutical manufacturing and project management, David provides API’s scale-up consulting and acts as the project manager for academics and spinoffs accessing API’s innovator program.


Micheal Guirguis

Manager, Pharmacokinetic Services

With a PhD in Pharmacokinetic and extensive experience providing pharmacokinetic services with companies such as Covance and Abbott, Micheal is a key member of API’s pharmacokinetic services team, coordinating and conducting modeling for API’s clients.

Rakesh Headshot

Rakesh Bhat

Director of Laboratory Science

With PhD in Bioanalytical Chemistry and Molecular Biology, and 15 years experience leading commercial-paced R&D, Rakesh is the head of API’s wet lab services, working directly with clients alongside API’s interns and academic principal investigators.

Our Interns

Our student and post-doctoral fellow interns are being trained for meaningful careers in the pharmaceutical industry, doing hands-on work in various aspects of the drug development process.

Benjamin O'Croinin

Undergraduate Student

Chulhun Park, PhD

Post-doctoral Fellow

Connor O'Croinin

Undergraduate Student

Daniela Silva

Graduate Student

Jerry Zhang

Graduate Student

Morteza Hajihosseini

Graduate Student

Muhammad Waheed Asghar

Post-doctoral Fellow

Myron Wilde, PhD

Post-doctoral fellow

Shadab Alam

Post-doctoral Fellow

Takeshi Susukida

Post-doctoral Fellow

Tyson Le

Post-Masters Intern

Yasin Tabatabaei, PhD

Post-doctoral Fellow

Emma Stephens

Undergraduate Student